Mary Shannon and the High Life

UNITED I STAND

Posted on: April 4, 2009

As a middle-aged white woman, I’m finally a “minority”

I like United.

Yes, the airline that everyone loves to hate has been nothing but good to me.

It helps that it is the only airline that flies year-round out of our local airport.  DIA in Denver is 5 hours away. But it’s not merely a love born of convenience. The best things always happen to me on United. I’ve been later–and stranded–by other airlines. United, on the other hand, has squeezed me into first class to make a flight when I arrived A DAY LATE for the flight. They’ve moved my daughter and I up to the bulkhead seat in economy plus seating when she and I were returning from a girls’ cruise together. They’ve assigned other economy plus seating when I didn’t pay for it. In short, they make me feel special.

The complaints I’ve heard from other travelers about hated airlines would have you think they’d been Madoff’ed by them. After probing, though, it turns out that the delays or cancellations that occurred aren’t anything out of the ordinary these days, as unfortunate as that is. But the frustrated passenger needs to take it out on someone, so the airline becomes evil on par with Hitler.

We collect miles on business credit cards. To fly from Gunnison, Colorado to Portland, Oregon it takes over 60,000 “miles” on any airline with a Capital One card. No black out dates, but you have to buy it weeks ahead. With a United card? Only 25,000 miles, and I can book it the day before I fly if there’s a seat. AND I don’t have to drive 5 hours to get on another airlines.

I think I’m in love. Can you blame me?

Leave a Reply

  • None
  • Mr WordPress: Hi, this is a comment.To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts' comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

Categories

