Mary Shannon and the High Life

I Can’t Believe I’ve Kept Quiet For So Long…

Posted on: March 15, 2008

I stand on the precipice of technology. Might I actually use my computer for something more than a glorified typewriter/photo album/research tool?

I chose very deliberately to be a mother. That doesn’t mean I used my children as a basis of my identity, but I thrived in the opportunity to help them grow to be the best people they could be. My husband and I got lucky, didn’t mess up too badly, and we have two great kids.

Our son Trevor majored in International Relations, graduated from university in record time and is about to depart for a year in India for his first  “adult” paying job. Our daughter Megan will be going off to college next fall in Chicago to study her first love, theater.

More and more I’ve felt frustrated or excited about things in the world, in the news, and in society.  There have been many long, ongoing, animated discussions within the family, but I’ve usually kept quiet outside my house.  No more!  I’m writing not to change your mind but to challenge your thinking, to make sure you don’t think of things blindly without due consideration.

Welcome aboard.

Leave a Reply

  • None
  • Mr WordPress: Hi, this is a comment.To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts' comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

Categories

